Beyond The Wall

I am thoroughly obsessed with George RR Martin’s series A Song of Ice and Fire.
I love the books and I love its HBO show, Game of Thrones.
I think about it constantly, probably unhealthily, which brought to my mind the subject of this post.
What if our military (here in America) was like the Night’s Watch?
The honor and dedication to duty. Complete abandonment from family and friends, the life you knew before.
Imagine. I know there are minor details, but my goal is to overlook those.
To overlook the fact that in the series, the Night’s Watch has become a group of criminals and misfits,
only taking the black by force or lack of other options.
This dream military I envision is a mock up of what the Night’s Watch was when it began.
Honorable men, who forsook their lands and lives to protect the realm.
If our military were like that, there would be nothing to hold them back (mentally or physically), nothing to keep them from giving
their best and most honorable, for the sake of their realm/country.
I don’t know, just a thought that crossed my mind.
I could (and probably need to) go much more in depth, but alas, I’ll refrain.

“What is honor compared to a woman’s love? What is duty compared to a newborn son in your arms.. Or the memory of a brother’s smile? Wind and words. Wind and words. We are only human, and the gods have fashioned us for love. That is our great glory, and our great tragedy” – Maester Aemon, Game of Thrones.

